AFL Alberta

Alberta Australian Football League (AAFL)

Alberta (AB)

Australian football was first played in Alberta in 2002 with the formation of the Calgary Kangaroos club. After several years of participation in inter-provincial tournaments, the Kangaroos were joined by the Red Deer Magpies and Calgary Bears to establish a local league. Women’s footy commenced in 2007 with the formation of the Calgary Kookaburras club, which is the representative team for the Knighthawks and Kingfishers.

Alberta footy teams have enjoyed success at inter-provincial and national levels. The Calgary Kangaroos won division two of the US Nationals in 2009 and 2010 and were division one runner up in 2011 and 2013. The Calgary Kookaburras won the US Nationals women’s division title in 2008 and the Canadian Nationals title in 2009.

In 2008 Edmonton formed the Emu’s women’s team with the Wombat’s men’s team following in 2009. They compete internally through the year in the “Club Championships” as well as various inter-provisional tournaments.

Alberta Footy oversees Australian football programs in the province, including the hosting junior clinics, field acquisition and the establishment of new clubs in the Rocky Mountains region.

Club Members

Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial